Thursday, March 22, 2012

If You Like The Hunger Games… You’ll Like:

Hunger Games Banner Poster (2)Who is excited for the Hunger Games!?! I know I am ^_^ Unfortunately I won’t be able to see it until Saturday, so don’t all of you premiere folks ruin anything for me! In spirit of the release of the movie, I’ve decided to show some other options for all the Hunger Games fans out there. Check out the books below if you are looking to read something similar!

Though I haven’t read all of these, the ones that I haven’t come recommended from some other trusted bloggers! The ones I have read are pink and link to my review.  Feel free to leave your input in the comments if you have read any of these, or have any others to recommend!


Divergent by Veronica Roth
Divergent is the most recommended book to Hunger Games fans and for a good reason. This is the first book that comes to mind when people ask me for a similar recommendation. Fans will definitely enjoy this one!

In a future Chicago, 16-year-old Beatrice Prior must choose among five predetermined factions to define her identity for the rest of her life, a decision made more difficult when she discovers that she is an anomaly who does not fit into any one group, and that the society she lives in is not perfect after all.
Unwind Unwind by Neal Shusterman

This is a very chilling book that focuses on ethics and human cruelty. I loved this one!

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child "unwound," whereby all of the child's organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn't technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.
Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love -- the deliria -- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.
Enclave Enclave by Ann Aguirre

In Deuce’s world, people earn the right to a name only if they survive their first fifteen years. By that point, each unnamed ‘brat’ has trained into one of three groups–Breeders, Builders, or Hunters, identifiable by the number of scars they bear on their arms. Deuce has wanted to be a Huntress for as long as she can remember.

As a Huntress, her purpose is clear—to brave the dangerous tunnels outside the enclave and bring back meat to feed the group while evading ferocious monsters known as Freaks. She’s worked toward this goal her whole life, and nothing’s going to stop her, not even a beautiful, brooding Hunter named Fade. When the mysterious boy becomes her partner, Deuce’s troubles are just beginning.
Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she's never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He's searching for someone too. He's also wild - a savage - but might be her best hope at staying alive.
If they can survive, they are each other's best hope for finding answers
Under The Never Sky
Ashfall Ashfall by Mike Mullin

Under the bubbling hot springs and geysers of Yellowstone National Park is a supervolcano. Most people don't know it's there. The caldera is so large that it can only be seen from a plane or satellite. It just could be overdue for an eruption, which would change the landscape and climate of our planet.

is the story of Alex, a teenage boy left alone for the weekend while his parents visit relatives. When the Yellowstone supervolcano erupts unexpectedly, Alex is determined to reach his parents. He must travel over a hundred miles in a landscape transformed by a foot of ash and the destruction of every modern convenience that he has ever known, and through a new world in which disaster has brought out both the best and worst in people desperate for food, water, and warmth.

Inklings: Have you read any of the above, if so did you like them!? Are there any that need to be added to the list? Come on, I know I missed some ;)

Reader recommendations via comments below: Matched by Ally Condie, Blood Red Road by Moira Young, and Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari.


  1. Matched by Ally Condie, is sort of in that whole dystopian, futuristic genre... great list! I've read, obviously the Hunger games haha, "Delirium" (LOVED that one), and I've got "Divergent" waiting on my shelf, and I've heard only great things about "under the never sky". :)

  2. Haha wow I guess I need to read Ashfall, Under the Never Sky and Unwind since I loved The Hunger Games and the other three. Thanks for the list! :O)

  3. Now you make me want to read Unwind even more! Heard that it's really good :)

  4. Great, useful post. Sharing on Twitter =)

  5. Well, that's just boosted my Book Bucket List

  6. Totally agree with the recommendations for DIVERGENT, DELIRIUM, UTNS, and ENCLAVE! Although I have both ASHFALL and UNWIND and have yet to read them, ugh. One of these days I will get off my butt and actually do it. :) Great recs!

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

  7. I have read all but one of the books mentioned above, Ashfall, but it's on my list :) I didn't particularly care for Unwind. But I really enjoyed the rest, especially Delerium. I would add Blood Red Road (Moira Young) to the list. and Ashes, Ashes (Jo Treggiari). They were both good too :)

  8. Hello colleagues, its fantastic piece of writing on the
    topic of educationand completely defined, keep it up
    all the time.

    Review my web page ... SC web directory